Copyright: Halifax and District Beekeepers Association.                        Rules of the Association                             Last updated: 3rd October 2017

Halifax and District Beekeepers Association
Welcome

Wednesday 10th January

Three short talks by Committee Members

Pollen in Honey - Roger Pool

Planting for Bees - Elaine Robinson

Bee Law - John Williams (May include quiz questions.)


Wednesday 14th February

The History of Bees

A talk by John Varker, Leeds Geology Sociaty


Saturday 3rd March

Bee Trade Exhibition

Stoneleigh Park, Warwickshire


Wednesday 14th March

Varroa Treatment throughout the year

IA talk by Ivor Flatman, National Bee Unit


Saturday 24th March

YBKA Conference

Manor C of E Academy, York


Wed 28th  March – Wed 9th May

Beginners’ Course – 7 weeks 7.30 -9.30 at Hebden Bridge Methodist Church

Phil Gee –  01422 886114


6th / 8th April

BBKA Spring Convention

Harper Adams University College, Telford, TF10 8NB.


Wednesday 11th Aprilil

Bumblebee Surveying in Peak District and South Pennines

A talk by Thomas Aspinall, Moors for the Future Partnership


Saturday 14th May - Arrangements to be confirmed

Beginners Course - Meet the bees at Southowram

OR Nosema Screening session at St Paul’s



Saturday 16th June - 1.00 to 4.00pm

Social Event and BBQ Lunch

Also “Bee Health and Forage”

A talk by Bill Cadmore, Leeds BKA

Brickhill Farm, Scholes Lane, Scholes, BD19 6LY - 01274 869644


10/11/12th July

Great Yorkshire Show


Saturday 14th July - 2.00pm

Apiary Visit  to Southowram

Also a talk “Bees for Developmentr” to be confirmed.



Saturday 11th August

Halifax Show - to include Honey Show


Saturday 18th August - 2.00pm

Apiary Visit to Wadsworth Apiary

Also “Preeparation for Winter at 1000ft Above Sea Level”

A talk by David Holmes  –  01422 843486


Saturday 15th September - 2.00pm

Honey Extraction

Dianne & Jeff Gill -  01422 367003


Wednesday 10th October

HBKA Annual General Meeting   


Saturday 27th October - 10.00 to 12.00am

Beginner’s and Mentor’s Review Review

Woodland View, Cragg Vale, Halifax HX7 5TB -  01422 886114


Wednesday 14th November

Preparation, Production, and Showing of Mead

A Talk by John Haigh


HBKA Winter meetings all start at 7.30pm at St Paul's Church, Sowerby Bridge,

Halifax. HX6 2EQ


HBKA Summer meetings have directions or a telephone number.

Back to the top

2018 Events Calendar

Download