Copyright: Halifax and District Beekeepers Association.                        Rules of the Association                             Last updated: 30th July 2017

Halifax and District Beekeepers Association
Welcome

Wednesday 11th January

Several short talks by Committee Members

The talks will cover a variety of bee topics and experiences.

(The skep making materials for the event on 21st January will be issued at this meeting.)


Saturday 21st January

Skep Making with Geoff Pearson (Make your own skep.) Cost £25 pp - includes materials.

10.30 – 3.30 at St Paul’s Church, Sowerby Bridge.


Wednesday 8th February

Team Quiz Night (with prizes)

Hosted by Roger Pool


Saturday 4th March

Bee Trade Exhibition

Stoneleigh Park, Warwickshire


Wednesday 8th March

Preparing Honey and Wax for Judging and Showing

A talk by Dave Shannon


Saturday 18th March

YBKA Conference

Manor C of E Academy, York


Wed 29th  March – Wed 10th May

Beginners’ Course – 7 weeks 7.30 -9.30 at Hebden Bridge Methodist Church

Phil Gee –  01422 886114


7th/9th April

BBKA Spring Convention

Harper Adams University College, Telford, TF10 8NB.


Wednesday 12th Aprilil

Swarms - Causes, Control, Prevention, Collection and Hiving.

Gerry Collins (Master Beekeeper, Doncaster BKA)


Saturday 6 th May  - 2.00pm

Beginners Course - Meet the bees

Jackie Haigh Apiary, Norland 01422 834345


Saturday 13th May

HBKA Auction

Auctioneer Mike Joyce

Brickhill Farm, Scholes Lane, Scholes, BD19 6LY - 01274 869644


Sunday 28th May

Queen Breeding Demonstration

Jim Pearson (Master Beekeeper)

Southowram Apiary - 01422 367003


Saturday 24th June - 1.00 to 4.00pm

Social Event and BBQ Lunch

Also talk “Putting them to Bed Safe and Snug”

Philip Khorassandjian, Sheffield BKA

Brickhill Farm, Scholes Lane, Scholes, BD19 6LY - 01274 869644


Saturday 8th July - 2.00pm

Apiary Visit - Changed from Wadsworth Bee Group Apiary to Southowram Apiary

Also a Nosema Screening Session - Details to follow.

David Holmes 01422 843486


13/14/15th July

Great Yorkshire Show


Saturday 12th August

Halifax Show - to include Honey Show


Saturday 19th August - 2.00pm

Apiary Visit to Phil Gee’s Apiary

Also a demonstration and talk on “The Photographyof Bees”

Phil Gee –  01422 886114


Saturday 16th September - 2.00pm

Honey Extraction

Dianne & Jeff Gill -  01422 367003


Wednesday,11th October

HBKA Annual General Meeting   


Saturday 28th October - 10.00 to 12.00am

Beginner’s and Mentor’s Review Review

Woodland View, Cragg Vale, Halifax HX7 5TB -  01422 886114


Wednesday 8th November

Queens and Things

A Talk by Gerry Collins, Master Beekeeper


HBKA Winter meetings all start at 7.30pm at St Paul's Church, Sowerby Bridge,

Halifax. HX6 2EQ


HBKA Summer meetings have directions or a telephone number.

Back to the top

2017 Events Calendar

Download